Thursday, September 15, 2011

I thought babies were supposed to "coo" and other thoughts :)

My baby likes to be a dinosaur!!! He likes to make noises and loudly... fart, poop, eat. He also likes to take his time stretching very dramatically for about five minutes before he officially gets up. Is it gross that we are obsessed with his dirty diapers, especially blow outs!!! It makes us so proud. He doesn't wake up from a nap or sleep without crying. And he is the best snuggler EVER.

Hudson does things big and proud. He has started making little vowel noises this week and grabbing onto things, especially my hair, with lots of gusto. He squirms around while he eats, very deliberately taking his time and he LOVES getting his diaper changed and bath time... tummy time not so much even though he is shockingly good at picking up his neck and rolling over already.

He projectile vomited a couple of times after meals (our fault for not doing a proper burp) and it scared the crap out of me that so much could come out of something so little, but he didn't even cry. He does cry however when we put him down in his crib half the time... he really really hates going down for a nap. By the 12:00 feeding every day, though, he sleeps like a champ! Getting him back down after a night feeding is hit or miss. Will he pass out or does he need to be picked up one or two times... The ergo gets him every time, though, or in our arms ;)

He is a chunky monkey, and I could eat him for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. He still likes to wake up every three hours from his last feeding, but once in a while he will grace me with longer periods of sleep a couple times a week during the night. He needs to be swaddled so his hands don't wake him up, but he escapes from it just about every other time.

He sleeps in his crib at night but during the day we put him in his stroller basinett and he always moves his body diagonally so his head and feet are touching the side.

He enjoys the pacifier now and then for soothing, but doesn't do a very good job of keeping it in his mouth. He will take boob milk in a bottle or formula, hot, or cold, he doesn't care as long as he is getting fed.

My favorite time is burp time! Not only does he often belch really loudly, but I love the look on his face as he puts his mouth into a little "O" shape, stares at my painting above the couch, and sticks his little tushy out into the air.

I love him so much that it hurts... literally. The first week I was terrified I wouldn't be able to take care of him or give him everything he needed. But we are slowly learning all sorts of things about each other. Although I can't wait to get back into a routine where I am not scarfing food down here and there, showering for more than two seconds, getting steadier sleep... but I get SO excited for him to wake up because I miss him so much!

I kiss his little acne cheeks, I stare into his big eyes while he gobbles food, and my heart keeps melting more and more every day.